3 Game Parlay – Gambling and Winning

Sports Betting, Handicapping, Poker playing tips, Trip journals and Whatever else.

Handicapping The Wood Memorial – 4/5/14

The big damn deal Queens, New York based Big A is hosting the 90th running of the famous Wood Memorial.  Winner gets $590,000 and gains entry to the Kentucky Derby.  The Derby is just about 30 days or so away (may 3rd).  It’s the 10th race on the card and you can watch it happen if you turn to NBCSports Network at 4:25 pm tomorrow.

I’ll handicapping this race for you and as always, you are welcome.

Social Inclusion is the morning line favorite at 2-1 but I don’t see him winning.  He’s only run twice (1 Maiden race, 1 Allowance race) and neither of those races had memorable fields and didn’t even test this horse.  He did run fast and put up a 111 Beyer figure, which is quick, but they were both easy trips, run entirely inside and that won’t happen in future races against better horses.

My Pick is Samraat in the 8th post.  He’s 7/2 on the morning line and has been tested in his last 2 outings, both of which were Grade 3 stakes races and run at the Big A.  He’s also 2-0 against the 3rd pick on the morning line Uncle Sigh 5-1.  I’m saying right here, he’ll go 3-0.

For an exotic pick, I’d go with Samraat, Uncle Sigh and Noble Moon, with Samraat winning and the other two boxed behind.


There is also a 500k guaranteed, all graded stakes, pick 4 starting with the 8th race!

For the 8th race I’ve got my eye on Oliver Zip.  He’s got the 2nd post, he’s won inside at The Big A in a minor stakes race.  I don’t know if he’ll win, but he will be of my exacta.  I am picking Favorite Tale out of post 6 for the win.

For the 9th race I’m picking Sweet Reason in post 3.  He’s won at the Big A, he’s got class and has raced a strong 4th at the Breeder Cup Juvenile back in October and he’ll handle Got Lucky and My Miss Sofia who are on either side of him.

For the 11th race I’m picking Strapping Groom to win it from the 5th spot. He’s running fast Beyer figures, he’s won at the A in his last start (The Tom Fool) about a month ago beating up on Dads Caps and Saturday’s Charm by a length when they raced head to head.


When available I consult with a small group of horse players who are kind enough to bounce their ideas around.  They’re a group of women and men who follow the races, some closer than others, and I trust their judgement.  I’ll include their picks and advice when I get it.  They’re not web people so they most likely won’t be writing in this space.

K. Rose’s picks for the pick 4 and Wood: Race 8: 6, Race 9: 4, Race 10: 11/8, Race 11: 5.


 

To Recap: My pick 4 ticket is 6, 3, 8, 5 and my Wood pick is 8.

Good luck out there and you are welcome.

 

About excusemeimdrinking

Put Some Action In Your Life.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2014 by in Horse Racing and tagged , , , , , .
