3 Game Parlay – Gambling and Winning

Sports Betting, Handicapping, Poker playing tips, Trip journals and Whatever else.

2015 Preakness Stakes Hanidapping

Good Afternoon! It’s Friday, the day before the second race in the U.S. Triple Crown!

They’ve got 5 stakes races for us to handicap. We’re laying everything down as a best bet for the day, the best bet for the race and then our pick 5 plays.

Consider playing some of our bets as a place (betting the horse will come in second) or Show (betting the horse will come in third). These place and show bets will pay well if a long shot shows up in the money.

Race #9: 1 Mile and 1/16 on Turf. 64th Running of the Gallorete Handicap. Grade 3.
I like the #7 Hard Not to Like in this one. She’s run well recently, hitting third in a grade 1 race in Keenland in her last start. I think that race was against tougher competition than this field can bring so I value that more than the other horses. She appears to be a front running horse with decent speed. Yes she is older, already 6, but classier than these others. I also like the #8 Watshachances. I’ll most likely play them both for $5 to win and then box exacta them for $2. I’d also play them both as the first leg of a pick 3 or pick 5.

Race #10: 6 Furlongs on Dirt. 6th Running of the Chick Lang.
A crazy dirty sprint race! #1 Blame Jim didn’t have the distance to handle the Gotham in March, but he’s got speed. I don’t think he’s got enough to win this one though. I like #7 Gimmie Da Lute in this one. He’s raced in a Grade 3 stakes on Derby day this year, running a game 3rd, but he didn’t have enough in there for the mile. Shortened by a furlong, I don’t see any ready he’ll have trouble holding off other horses in this.

Race #11: 5 Furlongs on Turf. 16th Running of the Very One.
A crazy turf sprint, what kinda card is this!? These short races are always, ‘anything can happen’ type races. 5 furlongs is barely more than a half mile! I’m picking #4 Ageless to pull off another win.. If you just want to go with a favorite, #5 Shrinking Violet looks pretty solid, but not unbeatable and won’t pay well.

Since it’s a short sprint on turf, it really could be any horses race. Something about #6 Jewel of a Cat’s recent stakes race performances is sticking with me and #4 Joya Real has solid number at Parx and Monmouth in late 2014. Sure the competition might not be as solid at those tracks, but the speed numbers were Ok. I think that is what matters most in a sport sprint like this. I’m putting in a Medium sized bet on Ageless to win, then doing a trifecta box with Ageless, Jewel of a Cat and Joya Real. hopefully that will pay something decent.

Race #12: 1 Miles and 1/16 on Turf. 114th Running of the Logines Dixie, Grade 2.
There are lots of strong horses in this one. #12 Long On Value stands out with strong performances in his last two starts, beating three horses in his February race at Gulfsteam. #4 Aripeka is the horse who’s run well and beaten Long on Value in his last start. I’m boxing #4 Aripeka with #12 to do my exacta’s. I’m also including #3 Cage Fighter, who only has a bunch of allowance starts and wins in an exacta box to get some longshot value if he’s able to come though on this larger stage.

Race #13: 1 Miles and 3/16 on Dirt. 140th Running of the Xpressbet.com Preakness, Grade 1.
I like #1 American Pharoah here. I know he’s trapped on the inside at post 1, I know that the jockeys and horses have to do extra work to get out of there and not get boxed in. I don’t care. This horse is the real deal and he’ll take this one like he took the Derby. Add #8 Firing Line, and #2 Dortmund. Tell the teller you want a $6 Trifecta wheel, Key the #1 winning with #2 and #8 boxed behind. It’ll cost you $12, and you win if American Pharoah wins and #2 and 8 show up in any order behind. You can thank me later.

I’ll post a recap on Monday highlighting how I did, read the one I posted for the Derby.

Good Luck out there!

About excusemeimdrinking

Put Some Action In Your Life.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2015 by in Horse Racing and tagged , , .
